Glock 30SF – 20,000 Round Update

Reviews

Following the 6 year review of my Glock 30SF in 45 auto, I have spent a lot more time with the pistol. I logged 20,000 reloads through the gun a few weeks ago and wanted to give a reliability report. First off, I feel extremely gracious to have been able to afford enough resources and time to be able to evaluate a gun so thoroughly as this. No other gun on the Land & Groove site has seen as much use and abuse as my Glock. But I know a few are thinking, “hey, what’s the deal with a round count? What exactly is the point besides showing off?” It’s quite simple, really. By logging rounds on a firearm, it becomes easier to identify upcoming maintenance. After losing a few slide locks early in the evaluation I felt it prudent to keep detailed logs so I could point to rounds vs parts breakage if and when they occurred again. I also wanted to give an account on Glock’s motto: Perfection.

 

So is it perfect? Did the pistol keep gobbling up round after round without fail? Not quite. The weakest part on my Glock has got to be the slide lock. My first one went out at around 2k rounds. The next let go somewhere around 7k rounds. I’ve changed out my recoil spring assembly four times, but only because I prefer to get a new one every 5k. As you’ll recall from the previous review everything was stock except the Storm Lake barrel. After some looking around I made the decision to switch to Truglo rear and front sights in green around 15k rounds. There was nothing wrong with the stock sights. I just wanted something more precise as the factory front sight tends to be a tad large in my opinion. It also has a tendency to get dulled by cast bullet lube and powder residue during long range sessions.

mags

The more the merrier. Magazines are essential to reliable function in semi-auto pistols. Feeding malfunctions can sometimes be resolved by changing out magazine springs.

So everything was running along fine until 16,300 rounds. My first and hopefully last major failure – the trigger spring broke. I’ll claim responsibility for that one. I should have completed a detailed inspection at 10k. Luckily this happened on the range and not in a defensive scenario. Losing a trigger spring during the fight for your life can mean certain death. For those unawares, the trigger spring, (more aptly: trigger return spring), enables the trigger to reset after being fully depressed. A pistol without that spring will fire, eject, and chamber a new round, but requires manually pushing the depressed trigger back to the fire position for each successive shot. When it first occurred I thought maybe I did not have a firm grip and was causing the malfunction. Sometimes the inertia during recoil from the last round fired would barely reset the trigger. Most times it would not. Driving home from the range with what was essentially a single shot pistol on my hip was a humbling experience. If there was ever a reason to log rounds on a pistol you intend on bringing into harms way that would be #1. Since then, I’ve made it a priority to do a complete inspection for any firearm at 10k rounds. The trigger spring cost me a grand sum of $1.83. A paltry amount for such an integral part. Replacing the spring put my pistol back into action with no issues since.

slide-wear

Not bad after 20,000.

As far as durability goes I’m nothing less than impressed. The reputation for the finish on my Gen 3 Glock 30SF is well deserved. The pictures would not show but there is a faint graying on the high spots toward the muzzle on the outside of the slide. Its very minimal and has not warranted special attention during cleaning. The breech face is noticeably worn but has suffered no worse for the wear. The Storm Lake barrel has taken off a decent amount of finish from the interior of the slide but it looks to have leveled off for now. The only thing that really concerned me was the barrel hood where it locks up against the breech face. There is a noticeable amount of flare on the barrel hood where it has peened against the breech. It has yet to cause a problem but I’ll continue to monitor the progress.

barrel-peen

Since my last review on the Glock 30SF I have taken up bullet casting. I originally wanted to produce a few hundred bullets for black powder loads in 32-20 but couldn’t resist trying for 45 auto. I go through, on average, 80 pounds of lead for the Glock 30SF every year so it was a no-brainer. At my current cost of $0.05/round for 45 auto, I’m spitting out 50 round boxes for $2.50. If you like to shoot and have more time than money that’s not a bad way to spend it.

 

Conclusion: Shoot the heck out of your pistols but also complete a diligent inspection every now and then. Even if you don’t keep detailed logs at least have a general idea when preventive maintenance should take place. Though my Glock is a sample size of one and may not be representative of Glocks in general, I hope this update gives readers an understanding on the importance of regular inspection intervals. I’d also like to reemphasize how fun this pistol has been. Yeah, it’s a carry gun. It’s boring and it’s like all the others. But this is really a good shooter. Even after 20,000 rounds I’m not a great shot. Still, I’ll keep enjoying each one.

cast-bullets

RCBS 45-230-RN bullets before lube/sizing.

 

5 thoughts on “Glock 30SF – 20,000 Round Update

  1. Awesome review, very good information. I ordered my G30SF today after all the positive reviews I’ve came across. Thank you !!

    Like

    1. Thanks Steve. Oddly enough, my frame cracked around 21,400 but Glock replaced everything at no charge. I took a year long break on reviews but should be back up and running in a month. I’ll be sure to do a follow up.

      Like

  2. What a delight, i.e., I just bought a CZ 75 Compact and read your excellent review and happened upon your Glock 30SF reviews as well! Again, this is another handgun I recently purchased and have not shot yet due to the Eldorado National Forest being shut down to target shooting (related to the Caldor fire) near my California mountain home. I digress though . . .

    Your 30SF reviews provide detailed information on what I can expect going forward. Equally important, I like that you have commented on the recoil, e.g., it being a “soft shooter.” In short, thank you for 2 excellent reviews . . . 3 actually, as I enjoyed reading your perspective on the CZ 75 Compact too!

    By the by, I had firearms years ago and got rid of all of them (personal choice related to a career “fork in the road” so to speak. Fast forward to 2007, I retired early and travel became my passion. Again, fast forward to the beginning of the pandemic – I reevaluated my stance toward firearms, particularly in lieu of the political climate. I asked myself this question, “We have a pandemic right now, so what’s next?” My answer was potentially dystopia, apocalypse, or . . . In any event, although I am liberal on most social issues and conservative on fiscal ones, the bottom line was that I wasn’t going to be caught unarmed. Consequently, I became a firearm owner last year and try to practice target shooting every couple of weeks at the aforementioned forest a few miles from my house.

    Here is a travel blog I no longer keep up, reflecting quite a few of the 45 plus countries I have visited . . . https://aroundtheworldwithblade.wordpress.com/about/

    Enjoy your day!

    Steve

    Like

  3. Old article and review but I just went to shoot my new Glock 30sf today for the first time and love it ! what an underrated pistol in the Glock line. I just started reloading a few months ago and I am starting with 45 acp this week for the 30sf

    Like

Leave a comment